2022 All-ACC Academic Men's Golf Team Announced - bdsthanhhoavn.com

2022 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team Announced

 GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – For the second consecutive year, Clemson’s Jacob Bridgeman is the Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year and headlines the sport’s 2022 All-ACC Academic Team announced Monday. The Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is named after Rod Myers, Duke’s men’s golf coach from 1973-2007.

A senior from Inman, South Carolina, Bridgeman was the individual medalist at the ACC Men’s Golf Championship in Panama City Beach, Florida, winning the title on the second playoff hole over North Carolina’s Peter Fountain. He fired rounds of 69, 66 and 68 during the three-day stroke play competition to finish 13-under-par and become the seventh player from Clemson to win the individual medal. A second-team PING All-American, Bridgeman is just the second player in ACC history to earn the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year in consecutive seasons since the award was introduced in 2007.  Bridgeman finished the year ranked second in the PGA Tour’s University rankings, which secures a spot on the Korn Ferry Tour.  He is second in Clemson history in career stroke average at 70.73 and has the most career rounds in the 60s with 50. Bridgeman claimed two individual tournament victories this year and his five career wins are tied for the most in Clemson history.


Ten of the 15 student-athletes who earned All-ACC honors this season also secured spots on the academic honors team, including Bridgeman and Freshman of the Year David Ford of North Carolina. Other players who also earned All-ACC and All-ACC Academic honors are: Duke’s Ian Siebers, Florida State’s Frederik Kjettrup, Georgia Tech’s Bartley Forrester and Christo Lamprecht, North Carolina’s Ryan Gerard, NC State’s Maximilian Steinlechner, Notre Dame’s Palmer Jackson and Wake Forest’s Michael Brennan.

Duke, Florida State and Wake Forest led all programs with three golfers on the academic team.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports.


Minimum academic requirements for selection to the All-ACC Academic Team are a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and a 3.0 cumulative average during one’s academic career for undergraduate students. Athletic achievements during the most recent season are also considered in selecting the All-ACC Academic Team.


The ACC Honor Roll, which recognizes all conference student-athletes with a grade point average of 3.0 for the current academic year, will be released in July.


2022 Rod Myers Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson


2022 All-ACC Academic Men’s Golf Team

Mac Webster, Boston College, Sr., Finance

Jacob Bridgeman**, Clemson, Sr., Management

Zack Gordon**, Clemson , Jr., Parks, Recreation, & Tourism Management

Quinn Riley, Duke, Sr., Sociology

Ian Siebers**, Duke, So., Economics

Jimmy Zheng, Duke, So., Economics

Daniel Bradbury, Florida State, Sr., Masters in Sport Management

Frederik Kjettrup**, Florida State, So., Sport Management

Ryunosuke Sakane, Florida State, Sr., Master’s: International Affairs

Bartley Forrester, Georgia Tech, Sr., Business Administration

Christo Lamprecht, Georgia Tech, So., Business Administration

Nicholas Tenuta, Louisville, Jr., Marketing

David Ford, North Carolina, Fr., Communications

Ryan Gerard**, North Carolina, Sr., Economics

Easton Paxton**, NC State, Gr., Sport and Entertainment Venue Management

Maximillian Steinlechner**, NC State, Jr., Business Administration

Palmer Jackson**, Notre Dame, Jr., Business Analytics

Taichi Kho**, Notre Dame, Sr., Marketing

Pietro Bovari**, Virginia, Jr., Economics

George Duangmanee**, Virginia, So., Arts & Sciences

Daniel Azallion**, Virginia Tech, Jr., Business – Finance

Connor Burgess**, Virginia Tech, Sr., Business – Management

Michael Brennan**, Wake Forest, Jr., Economics

Parker Gillam**, Wake Forest, Gr., Sustainability

Mark Power, Wake Forest, Jr., Communication


*denotes number of All-Academic Team honors

ACC Men’s Golf Scholar Athlete of the Year

2022      Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson

2021      Jacob Bridgeman, Clemson

2020      Not awarded due to COVID-19

2019      Alex Smalley, Duke

2018      Stephen Franken, NC State

2017      Jimmy Stanger, Virginia

2016      Stephen Behr, Clemson

2015      Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech

2014      Ollie Schniederjans, Georgia Tech

2013      Brinson Paolini, Duke

2012      James White, Georgia Tech

2011      James White, Georgia Tech

2010      Brendan Gielow, Wake Forest

2009      Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech

2008      Barden Berry, North Carolina



Leave a Comment