Big 12 Men’s Golf Awards Unveiled -

Big 12 Men’s Golf Awards Unveiled

The 2021-22 Big 12 Men’s Golf awards have been revealed. Oklahoma’s Chris Gotterup was named both the Big 12 Player and Newcomer of the Year while Texas’ John Fields was voted Coach of the Year.

Student-athlete honors and the All-Big 12 team are selected based on the season’s final Golfweek/Sagarin individual rankings. The medalist of the Big 12 Championship is added if not among the top-10 ranked individuals. Coach of the Year is voted on by Big 12 head coaches.

This year marks the first time a golfer has taken home both awards in the same season since Texas’ Brandon Stone secured both in 2013.

Gotterup was also named the winner of the 2022 Haskins Award, given annually to the nation’s top player. The fifth-year senior transferred to Oklahoma from Rutgers for his final season and is the unanimous No. 1 collegiate golfer in the country per the Golfstat and Golfweek/Sagarin rankings. He posted victories at the East Lake Cup and Puerto Rico Classic this season and had a runner-up finish at the Big 12 Championship. He ended one stroke off the champion at the NCAA Championships, earning a share of fifth in the nation’s most challenging field. Gotterup rose to No. 7 in the final rankings of the PGA Tour U to assure himself professional status on an affiliated tour of the PGA. The native of Little Silver, New Jersey helped OU to a school record-tying seven wins in 2021-22, including the program’s 18th conference championship while guiding the Sooners to their sixth consecutive NCAA match-play quarterfinals. Gotterup is the first Sooner to take home Player of the Year since Anthony Kim in 2005 and the first OU newcomer since Jesse Schutte in 2007.

Fields collects his ninth Big 12 Coach of the Year honor and his first since 2017. The head coach of Texas men’s golf since 1997 led the Longhorns to their fourth NCAA team title in program history and second under Fields. It was Texas’ second appearance in the Championship Match in the last three NCAA Championships, third trip to the finals in the last six opportunities and fourth appearance since 2012.

Oklahoma State and Texas led with three players each on the All-Big 12 Team while Oklahoma had two. Baylor and Texas Tech each had one golfer honored.

2021-22 Big 12 Men’s Golf Awards

Player & Newcomer: Chris Gotterup, Oklahoma

Coach: John Fields, Texas

All-Big 12 Team

Johnny Keefer, Baylor, Jr.

Chris Gotterup, Oklahoma, RS-Sr.

Logan McAllister, Oklahoma, Sr.

Eugenio Chacarra, Oklahoma State, Sr.

Aman Gupta, Oklahoma State, Sr.

Brian Stark, Oklahoma State, Jr.

Pierceson Coody, Texas, Sr.

Cole Hammer, Texas, Sr.

Travis Vick, Texas, Jr.

Ludvig Aberg, Texas Tech, Jr.


Players sorted alphabetically by school


Leave a Comment