City of Greenville police enforce golf cart safety - bdsthanhhoavn.com

City of Greenville police enforce golf cart safety

The city of Greenville Police Department is reminding you to be safe this summer, especially while on a golf cart. People of all ages are ready to hit the road and enjoy their summer and some say there’s no better way than on a golf cart but members of law enforcement also want you to be safe. With police expecting more people out and about, especially on golf carts, they want you to keep in mind a few rules. South Carolina laws for golf carts: You have to be 16 years old with a valid driver’s licenseYou must be insured You can’t drive at night You must remain within four miles of your homeYou can only be on roads that have posted speeds of 35 mph or lessYour golf cart must be permitted and registered with the South Carolina DMVSome people are already expressing their concerns.”It’s a fun thing to do but the kids don’t realize that these are motor vehicles. They’re heavy, they can go fast and they can flip and you can get seriously hurt,” Rob McCormack said.Even other young drivers, who are of age, are worried it could get them all in trouble. “If they do something, it could ruin it for all of us. Not just them. Whenever we’re coming through in our cars we have to be extra cautious because we never know if they’re going to be darting out in the road,” Morgan Fine said.So officers and golf cart enthusiasts young and old hope everyone will follow the law and enjoy their summer safely. “Just be safe when you’re driving them. Have fun but pay attention and slow down and take care of yourself and the friends that are on the cart with you,” McCormack said. “Be aware of your surroundings more than anything. It’s not just you,” Fine said.As of 2018, if you violate any of these state-enforced golf cart laws, you can face a $100 fine or up 30 days in jail.

The city of Greenville Police Department is reminding you to be safe this summer, especially while on a golf cart.

People of all ages are ready to hit the road and enjoy their summer and some say there’s no better way than on a golf cart but members of law enforcement also want you to be safe.

With police expecting more people out and about, especially on golf carts, they want you to keep in mind a few rules.

South Carolina laws for golf carts:

  • You have to be 16 years old with a valid driver’s license
  • You must be insured
  • You can’t drive at night
  • You must remain within four miles of your home
  • You can only be on roads that have posted speeds of 35 mph or less
  • Your golf cart must be permitted and registered with the South Carolina DMV

Some people are already expressing their concerns.

“It’s a fun thing to do but the kids don’t realize that these are motor vehicles. They’re heavy, they can go fast and they can flip and you can get seriously hurt,” Rob McCormack said.

Even other young drivers, who are of age, are worried it could get them all in trouble.

“If they do something, it could ruin it for all of us. Not just them. Whenever we’re coming through in our cars we have to be extra cautious because we never know if they’re going to be darting out in the road,” Morgan Fine said.

So officers and golf cart enthusiasts young and old hope everyone will follow the law and enjoy their summer safely.

“Just be safe when you’re driving them. Have fun but pay attention and slow down and take care of yourself and the friends that are on the cart with you,” McCormack said.

“Be aware of your surroundings more than anything. It’s not just you,” Fine said.

As of 2018, if you violate any of these state-enforced golf cart laws, you can face a $100 fine or up 30 days in jail.

Leave a Comment