Gophers Baseball to Host Champions Day Saturday -

Gophers Baseball to Host Champions Day Saturday

1960: Led by then 13th-year head coach Dick Siebert, the 1960 Minnesota Golden Gophers became the second team in program history to win a College World Series title. Also the Big Ten regular season champions, Minnesota finished the year with a 34-7-1 (12-2-1 Big Ten) record, winning the conference title by five games. John Erickson was named the team MVP for Minnesota, one of three Golden Gophers to receive College World Series MVP honors. Minnesota locked up in three classic extra-inning games with USC on their way to the championship. In the first matchup with USC, the Golden Gophers produced the biggest comeback in College World Series history as they rallied from an 11-2 deficit to win 12-11 in 10 innings. In the second matchup, the Trojans claimed a 4-3 11-inning thriller. Minnesota claimed the rubber match with a 2-1 10-inning victory in the final. Wayne Knapp, Dave Pflepsen and Howard Nathe were all named First Team All-Big Ten while Larry Bertelson and Knapp were named First Team All-Americans.

1982: In John Anderson‘s first year as the head coach, Minnesota went 33-22-1 (8-8 Big Ten), won the Big Ten Tournament title and made the NCAA Regionals. Led by First Team All-American catcher Greg Olson and future Big Ten Player of the Year Terry Steinbach, the Gophers rebounded from a 3-6-2 start to win 11 of their next 14 games. One of four teams to make the second ever Big Ten Tournament, Minnesota fell in its first game before coming back to win four games in a row, including two over Ohio State, to win the conference title. They then went to the Stillwater Regional, and John Anderson won his first career NCAA Tournament game, a 9-0 win over Oral Roberts. Anderson was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the first of eight times while Greg Olson and Terry and Tom Steinbach were all named First Team All-Big Ten.

1992: 11th-year head coach John Anderson led the Gophers to a 42-21 mark (18-10 Big Ten), a Big Ten Tournament title and an NCAA Regional appearance, his fifth since taking over the reins of the program. Despite going 10-8 in the non-conference and 2-6 in Big Ten play, Minnesota rebounded to win 16 of their final 20 games to finish 18-10 in conference play. The ‘U’ went 3-0 in the B1G Tournament, taking down Michigan State in the semis and Ohio State in the final to earn the tournament crown. They then traveled to the Wichita Regional, going 2-2, falling twice to Oklahoma State to end their season. The Gophers were led by Second Team All-American second baseman Mark Merila and freshman All-Americans Darren Grass and James Brower. George Behr was also named Second Team All-Big Ten.

2000: The 2000 Big Ten regular season champions made the NCAA Regionals with a 38-24 (20-8 Big Ten) record. It was Minnesota’s 18th conference crown in program history. After starting the Big Ten slate with an 8-4 record, the Gophers reeled off 11 wins in 12 games to make a beeline towards the regular season title. Minnesota hosted the NCAA Regional in 2000 for the first time since 1977. After winning game one against Wichita State, the Gophers dropped the next two against Nebraska and Wichita State to end their season. One of the best fielding teams in program laurels, Minnesota set a program record with 721 total assists. Starting pitcher Mike Kobow was named First Team All-Big Ten while Jack Hannahan and Josh Holthaus made the second team. John Anderson was also named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the second time in his career.

2001: The 2001 Gophers baseball team won the Big Ten Tournament title with a 39-21 (19-8 Big Ten) record. After finishing third by a close margin in the Big Ten regular season standings, the Gophers were on a mission in the conference tournament. They won all four games, capping the tournament off with one-run wins over regular season champion Ohio State and Michigan. Third Team All-American third baseman Jack Hannahan received tournament MVP honors while him and pitcher Mike Kobow were both named to the All-Big Ten First Team. Kobow tied for fourth in a season in school history in both wins (10) and innings pitched (108.1). Minnesota would play in the Baton Rouge Regional, losing hard-fought games to LSU and California to end the season.

2002: Big Ten Regular season title winners, the 2002 Gophers finished 32-26 (18-10 Big Ten) and collected their second regular season conference crown in three seasons. Two-time All-American second baseman Luke Appert, shortstop Scott Welch and pitcher C.J. Woodrow were all selected to the All-Big Ten First Team while John Anderson was named conference coach of the year for the third time. Minnesota started the season just 1-9 and was 8-12 before conference play hit. Despite that, the Gophers regrouped and went on an 11-game winning streak in the middle of Big Ten play that put them in the conference’s driver’s seat heading into the final series with Ohio State. The ‘U’ split the four-game series with the Buckeyes and captured the regular season Big Ten title once again. Minnesota would fall in the conference tournament final, but nonetheless capped off their season resiliently after a tough start.

2010: In 2010, John Anderson‘s Golden Gophers made their third regional appearance in a four-year span, going 32-30 (15-9 Big Ten), winning both the Big Ten regular season and tournament crowns. Despite starting the season with a 5-12 record, the Gophers found their stride and peaked at the perfect time, winning 16 of their final 21 regular season games. Minnesota went 3-0 in the Big Ten Tournament, defeating Indiana and Michigan in close games before gashing Iowa 15-5 in the final. The Gophers kept up their strong play in the postseason, opening up the Fullerton Regional with a 3-1 win over No. 7 Cal-State Fullerton before defeating New Mexico to advance to the regional final. Minnesota would fall in the next two games to Fullerton, narrowly missing out on their first Super Regional under John Anderson. Anderson was named Big Ten Coach of the Year for the sixth time in his career and first baseman Nick O’Shea was named to the All-Big Ten First Team.


Minnesota will host Nebraska for a three-game series at Siebert Field from Friday, May 6, through Sunday, May 8.

Leave a Comment