NBA Finals referee assignments: James Capers to lead officiating crew in Game 4 of Warriors vs. Celtics -

NBA Finals referee assignments: James Capers to lead officiating crew in Game 4 of Warriors vs. Celtics

The NBA has announced its officiating crew for Game 4 of the 2022 NBA Finals.

Led by chief James Capers, the three-person crew also features veteran NBA officials, Kane Fitzgerald and Eric Lewis. The trio of Capers, Fitzgerald and Foster have made a combined 21 NBA Finals appearances.

Game 4 of the NBA Finals marks the 14th NBA Finals game that Capers has officiated in his career, while this will be Fitzgerald’s fourth NBA Finals game and Lewis’ sixth NBA Finals game.

MORE: Three things to watch in Game 4 of the NBA Finals

Per the NBA, “Finals officials were selected by the NBA Referee Operations management team based on their performance throughout the first three rounds of the 2022 playoffs.”

Officials advance in the postseason based on the evaluation of their performance at the end of each round, meaning the 12 officials selected to officiate the NBA Finals are considered to be among the best performing officials of the playoffs.

Here is a breakdown of the officiating crew along with more background on the officials that will call Game 4 between the Warriors and Celtics.

NBA Finals Game 4 officiating crew

In addition to Capers’ role as crew chief, both Fitzgerald and Lewis take on specific roles for Game 4. Veteran official Scott Foster will serve as the Replay Center official.

Here is the official crew.

Position Official Uniform No. Seasons No. of NBA Finals
Crew Chief James Capers 19 27 11
Referee Kane Fitzgerald 5 13 3
Umpire Eric Lewis 42 18 4
Replay Center Scott Foster 48 28 15

NBA Finals officials

Ahead of the 2022 NBA Finals, the league announced a list of 12 officials that would be assigned to the series. The referees assigned to the 2022 NBA Finals are as follows:

Official No. of NBA Finals
Tony Brothers 11
James Capers 11
Marc Davis 11
Kane Fitzgerald 4
Scott Foster 15
John Goble 6
David Guthrie 5
Courtney Kirkland 2
Eric Lewis 4
Josh Tiven 3
James Williams 2
Zach Zarba 9

Officials Curtis Blair, Tyler Ford, Mark Lindsay, Ed Malloy, Ben Taylor and Sean Wright have been assigned as alternates for the 2022 NBA Finals.

Leave a Comment