NE10 Champion Women's Lacrosse Earns Ninth NCAA Bid -

NE10 Champion Women’s Lacrosse Earns Ninth NCAA Bid

Skyhawks earn top seed and will host NCAA II East Regional at W.B. Mason Stadium this weekend

NCAA Announces Field for 2022 Division II Women’s Lacrosse Championship

Interactive Bracket

The Skyhawks captured their NE10 record tenth tournament championship this afternoon and then received a ninth NCAA Tournament bid, earning the East Region top seed and hosting rights to the regional next weekend (PHOTO BY Andrew Katsampes)

EASTON, Mass. (May 8, 2022) – Hours after capturing its Northeast-10 Conference record tenth NE10 Tournament Championship, Stonehill College received its ninth NCAA Division II Women’s Lacrosse Tournament bid, earning a top seed and hosting rights to the East Regional this weekend on Timothy J. Coughlin, ’80 Memorial Field at W.B. Mason Stadium as announced by the NCAA women’s lacrosse selection committee tonight.

Stonehill (17-2, 12-1 NE10), which captured both the NE10 regular season and tournament championship double for the first time since 2008, is back in the NCAA Division II Tournament for the first time since 2015 and will host an NCAA Tournament contest for the first time since capturing its first of two national championships in 2003. Stonehill has also earned NCAA Tournament bids in 2001, ’02, ’03, ’05, ’07, 2010, ’13 and ’15 and will take aim at a third national championship, having won the title in 2003 and 2005.

Stonehill, ranked No. 8 in both the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) and USA Lacrosse Magazine Division II polls, will host the NCAA East Regional at W.B. Mason Stadium on Friday and Sunday. Making their way to Easton for the regional are second-seeded and No. 5/6 Adelphi University (16-2, 12-1 NE10), nine-time NCAA Division II Champions who shared the NE10 regular season championship with Stonehill, third-seeded and No. 10/11 Le Moyne College (15-5, 10-3 NE10), NE10 Tournament finalists, and fourth-seeded and No. 15/16 Mercy College (14-4, 6-0 ECC), the East Coast Conference (ECC) regular season and tournament champions.

The East Regional will get underway on Friday, May 13, when Stonehill and Mercy battle at W.B. Mason Stadium at 11 a.m., with Adelphi and Le Moyne playing in a rematch of Saturday’s NE10 semifinal, won by Le Moyne in overtime, at 3 p.m. The East Regional Championship will be played at W.B. Mason Stadium on Sunday, May 15, at noon.

The winner of the East Regional will advance to the NCAA Division II Final Four, hosted by Lindenwood University, at Harlen C. Hunter Stadium in Saint Charles, Missouri, May 20-22.

2022 NCAA Division II Women’s Lacrosse Championships
East Regional, hosted by Stonehill College
Easton, Massachusetts – W.B. Mason Stadium

First Round – East Regional Semifinal
Friday, May 13
#4 Mercy College (14-4, 6-0 ECC) at #1 Stonehill (17-2, 12-1 NE10), 11 a.m.
#3 Le Moyne College (15-5, 10-3 NE10) vs. #2 Adelphi University (16-2, 12-1 NE10), 11 a.m. 

East Region Championship – National Quarterfinal
Sunday, May 15
Semifinal Winners, Noon 

National Semifinals (hosted by Lindenwood University, Saint Charles, Missouri)
Friday, May 20
Regional Champions will be reseeded
Semifinal #1, 5 p.m.
Semifinal #2, 8 p.m. 

Championship (hosted by Lindenwood University, Saint Charles, Missouri)
Sunday, May 22
Semifinal winners, 3 p.m.

For the latest on Stonehill Athletics, follow the Skyhawks via social media on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. Fans can also download the Stonehill Skyhawks “Front Row” mobile app, powered by PrestoSports, on iTunes and the Android Market. 

Leave a Comment