No. 11 Golf Begins NCAA Championship Tuesday -

No. 11 Golf Begins NCAA Championship Tuesday


St. Louis, Mo. – The No. 11 Washington University in St. Louis golf team is set to compete at the NCAA Division III Golf Championships at the Bay Oak Country Club in Houston, Texas on May 10-13.

Bay Oaks Country Club is a Par 72 course spanning 5,866 yards. The championship is hosted by the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor and Harris County-Houston Sports Authority.

Competing for the Bears at the championship are Sydney Kuo, Annie Mascot, McKensey Kaseta, Emmy Sammons and Krystina Wilson.

WashU is one of 29 teams to earn a berth, which included all four UAA women’s golf teams. The field of 29 includes 22 automatic qualifiers as well as seven at-large selections. The Bears have now qualified for the NCAA Championship nine times in program history, having last made an appearance during the 2019 season. WashU’s highest finish was in 2015 when it took third overall.

Beginning Tuesday, the championship will consist of both team and individual competition conducted concurrently. Following 54 holes of competition (three rounds), the field will be cut to the top 15 teams. For the team competition, the low four scores from each team for each day will count in the team’s total score.

TEAMS (in seed order)

1.    Emory University
2.    Carnegie Mellon University
3.    Williams College 
4.    Methodist University [USA South Athletic Conference]
5.    University of Redlands
6.    George Fox University [Northwest Conference]
7.    Centre College [Southern Athletic Association]
8.    Pomona-Pitzer Colleges [Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference]
9.    Amherst College [New England Small College Athletic Conference]
10.   Washington and Lee University [Old Dominion Athletic Conference]
11.   Washington University in St. Louis (Missouri)
12.   New York University [Liberty League]
13.   Claremont McKenna-Harvey Mudd Scripps
14.   Trinity University (Texas)
15.   St. Catherine University [Minnesota Intercollegiate Athletic Conference]
16.   University of Mary Hardin-Baylor [American Southwest Conference]
17.   Carthage College [College Conference of Illinois & Wisconsin]
18.   York College (Pennsylvania)[Middle Atlantic Conferences]
19.   Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology [Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference]
20.   University of Wisconsin-Whitewater [Wisconsin Intercollegiate Athletic Conference]
21.   Saint Mary’s College (Indiana) [Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association]
22.   University of Dubuque [American Rivers Conference]
23.   Otterbein University [Ohio Athletic Conference]
24.   State University of New York at Cortland [Northeast Women’s Golf Conference]
25.   Aurora University [Northern Athletics Collegiate Conference]
26.   Westminster College (Pennsylvania) [Presidents’ Athletic Conference]
27.   Drew University [Landmark Conference]
28.    University of Northwestern-St. Paul [Upper Midwest Athletic Conference]
29.    Marymount University (Virginia) [Centennial Conference]

Leave a Comment